Pro14: South African teams confirmed in expanded tournament

The Pro12 will be expanded to include South African side Southern Kings and Cheetahs from September, organisers have confirmed.
The expanded tournament will be called the Pro14 and see the teams split into two conferences of seven made up of two Welsh, two Irish and one team each from Scotland, Italy and South Africa.
The conferences have been decided based on last season’s results.
Cheetahs and Kings will play their home games in South Africa.
They will play only Saturdays, and there will be five travel-free days before matches.
The first round of matches is due to be played on the weekend of 1-3 September, with the first fixtures to be announced on 7 August.
It is understood the addition of the two new teams will bring in an extra £6m a year in revenue.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.